Pikinini Cruiser!

I think this shot typifies the idealic lifestyle of the young Pikinini’s in PNG. Here is a young fella chilling out leaning up against a hut in the shade with his favourite stick.

He is not looking to go out and get his next Xbox game, or looking to anyone for his next new toy…he is just happy with what he has.

Everywhere I looked in PNG I saw very healthy, fit and content people. At one of the schools the teachers were using little canes to keep kids in line with a slight tap and the discipline was obvious.

Our modern day society has lost its way I reckon. We are a spoilt and wanton society that really has no concept of the important things in life any more.

I shudder to think what the next set of rules will be coming out to ‘protect us’!

We sure can learn something from these people!

~ by True North Mark on November 18, 2010.

11 Responses to “Pikinini Cruiser!”

  1. Simply sensational portrait Mark. The subject, composition and lightining enhance the emotion of the photo.

    Only thing I find distracting is the boys bright foot. This photo is award worthy!

    • Thanks little buddy!

      Portraiture is something that I am not comfortable with quite yet, so it is good to get some positive feedback for sure!

  2. Hehe, I have him as well as one of my gold shots, he’s just about the cutest on the island. This is quite stunning mate, very well done and good processing, tnfp filter for the win! Background is great.I think the sand should probably be sand coloured, to my eyes it looks strange he is sitting in very grey dark blue sand. I would like to see it sand coloured please šŸ™‚

  3. Really sweet image Mark, also a great post with which I concur with your sentiments.
    Cheers,

  4. Beautiful portrait mate and couldn’t agree more with the sentiments

  5. Cute child, beautiful light. Our society could learn from the simple way they live.

  6. Sweet shot Mark!! One of my fav’s i think..
    The kids over there sure know how to make fun – remember these 2 young kids who made a fishing reel out of an old coke can with fishing line rapped around it – and they would use little crazy crabs for bait!

    Way more fun than xbox!!

Leave a Reply

 
