Longreach Tumbleweeds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, what a day!

The man himself, Christian Fletcher announced his retirement from his blog and I must say that I am not surprised by the announcement.

The blog has grown to a point where it is taking him away from the main focus points in his life and his balance in life need to be readjusted.

I feel sure that as a blogging community that we can still interact with each other as we have been doing and that we can arrange some outings where Christian will come along as a guest or something.

I have attached an image that I took a couple of weekends ago at Longreach Bay at Rottnest Island, whilst there the Flemming Bo Jensen.

I am not sure on this one…but it does have some appeal to me…what to the punters think!

~ by True North Mark on March 2, 2011.

31 Responses to “Longreach Tumbleweeds”

  1. Hey Mark,

    I like the composition I think maybe it’s a bit dark, or dull I feel like it needs to be a bit brighter. Just my opinion and you asked for it. I suppose I just like the blue water and sky so maybe that’s what it is for me.

  2. Looks alright maybe a touch more saturation would not go astray. Christian will be back, maybe a post a week would be ok!

    • Thanks Tim…I don’t think he will be back actually!

      I think this phase of his life has been done and it will be onto the next rendition!

      Time will tell!

  3. I think I agree with Andrea on this one.

    How many times did Nellie Melba retire ?

    CF will be the same. 🙂

  4. Probably a good idea to get rid of the sensor dust as well. 😉

  5. “you want the truth” Yes I think I am entitled to the truth, “you cant handle the truth”
    Sorry saw a few good men recently for the zillionth time …

    Sorry Mark, not all are keepers and in all honesty I’d bin it … it seems quite busy with tons of different textures … i do like the tumble weeds but in context of the image as a whole I think you have many many more from rotto that eat this one …. Sorry dude, but if you ask, you’ll get the honest truth ….

  6. One of the many moods of Longreach. Foreground & sky set off the seascape superbly, Mark.
    Enjoyed your exhibition @ Kidogo too. Clive.

  7. Straight to the … bin, not the website this time around. Sorry mate, we got some gold at Rotto and surely there’s a few of the new ones from last Saturday that goes straight to the website – but this is not one of them. Too busy, light not great, horizon in the middle.

    Christian almost became a victim of his own blog success, I think he’s doing right in moving on, it’s a good thing. It’s just a blog, not the end of the world 🙂 We’ll still see the good man and we have plenty of blogs to banter on 🙂

    • Yep I agree…but not a fan of much I got last weekend either mate!

      I am going to look for some abstracts between now and when I go on True North and from there on it will be game on! 🙂

  8. Mate I like it I feel the grass flower (not sure what the real name for it is lol) is the main subject and the rest is just a really nice background for the image works well I feel anyway mate 🙂

  9. Not sure either mate… lol
    Perhaps it has more chance in high contrasty B&W ?

    cheers,

  10. don’t bin it! – crop it, that’s all it needs honestly
    if you crop the sky down to the top of the boats – it’s a winner 🙂
    try it, please? the composition is strong in the bottom half

  11. I like Chloes idea of the crop. I think with the crop and black and white it may come together a little more. It would have been great to see the bay wrap right around also. Particularly in a B&W version.

    I hope the exhibition went well. Sorry I couldn’t make it as I am on the Gold Coast.

    Take care

  12. I’m glad to see Mark, I’m not the only one who thought your photo WASN’T crap, not like some else we all know. 🙂 lol

  13. Hi Mark,

    I reckon this is just missing one piece for it to be a cool photo… There’s nothing going on in the middle mate! I love all the textures, the contrast and how the clouds mirror the flow of the rocks.. I can look at that all day… it’s just nothing is keeping me in the middle. But thats one opinion out of a bagfull, take it for what it is 😀

    Bryce.

Leave a Reply

 
