Pinnacles trip with Mr. Spool!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yesterday Neal Pritchard (aka Mr. Spool) and I went up to Cervantes and the Pinnacles area to see what we could find to shoot and we found gold!

I had already scoped this area before Xmas when on a commercial shoot, so I new if given the right conditions, we could get something pretty special.

It was windy which meant that we ended up with sand in just about every orifice at these sand dunes, but it was certainly worth it. A few funny moments as well. Neal called me over to show me these really cool sand sculptures…and waycool the indeed were and whilst we were waiting for the sun to come out from behind the clouds my hat blew off, right down where the sand sculpture was.

After a bit of debate we decided the best course of action was for me to slide down the hill feet first with Neal hanging onto my feet. After grabbing the hat there was quite a comedy with Neal trying to pull me back out and the sand sliding as you can well imagine. We needed a third person to get the shot!

After this shoot we shot the Pinnacles at sunset and into the night with the full moon and am pretty happy with the RAW files I have looked at so stay tuned!

~ by True North Mark on January 22, 2011.

6 Responses to “Pinnacles trip with Mr. Spool!”

  1. Nice one mate – great dunes and lines there ! I look forward to seeing more from the trip 🙂

  2. we certainly had some nice skies that afternoon … Just had to wait a wile for the sun to shine through a few times, nice angle and just enough sky / dune, I would try and take some of the yellows out of the sand and blues out of the clouds …. A very cool afternoon and evening shoot … cheers …

  3. Good work Mark, like the leading lines and textures

Leave a Reply

 
