Rabaul Altered Landscape!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think that this image typifies both how dramatically the Volcano at Rabaul altered the landscape for ever and how quickly is must have come on.

Here we have a reasonable size bull dozer totally buried in ash and lava.

I intend to go back here sometime and spend a few days there…gold around every corner!

I have now added a colour version for Tim…hope you like it mate!

~ by True North Mark on November 23, 2010.

16 Responses to “Rabaul Altered Landscape!”

  1. Like this one Mark, be interested to see a colour version!

  2. That’s one cool set of images, the sky’s look really good!

  3. It does not work in Black and white but is much better in colour with the contrast between blue and yellow. Perhaps for composition everything sits a little too centered in the frame. But it’s a great altered landscape shot. I have a slightly different version that will be up on the blog…some day πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Bomontaruny!

      I am sure mine will be better but! πŸ™‚

    • When are you coming down dude?

      • I am sure your’s is better mate….in another parallel universe where my image does not exist πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        I will be in Broome a while, love it up here. Probably flying down, too bloody expensive to rent and drive. I suspect I will hit Freo in two weeks from now.

      • He he…very funny! We are not competitive at all are we mate! πŸ™‚

        I look fwd to seeing you then!

      • oh no not at all…reminds me we have to finish that ping pong game as I recall it that I was kicking your behind πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        See ya in a couple of weeks, look forward to it much! Check out my new blog post, True North Ashore the outback version πŸ™‚

      • Indeed you were mate…but we never finished that game!

        I have a Fooze table at home so we will have to have a crack at a Fooze competition…note: all drop zones have Fooze tables and that is what we do when it is raining or cloudy and I have been playing Fooze for 25 years!

        We could also have a swimming comp! πŸ™‚

        I will check out your post!

  4. Like the colour one Marky Mark. WHen are we catching up for a Xmas drink???

    I might be over there late Jan for The Doctor (kayak race Rotto to Perth). Love to hook up.

    CHeers,
    Tom

    • Hey Tommy boy!

      If we are hear you canstay here if you want.

      The only thing is we might be in Austria about then.

      My daughter is over there at the moment and we might be going over to see her…but it depends on a few work related things as to our going or not.

      Will give you a call to discuss.

      Cheers,

      Mark

Leave a Reply

 
