PNG Lone Tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We found this lone tree right next to an Island that we affectionately called Mark’s Island…coz I found it from the air in the True North heli.

My wife likes this image a lot…so that’s all I need really! πŸ™‚

I hope you all like it as well.

~ by True North Mark on November 14, 2010.

6 Responses to “PNG Lone Tree”

  1. Great find and shot Mark, I reckon a long exposure 30secs would be awesome.
    Was it a mangrove or had an area sunken from a seismic event?

    • I tried to avoid using nd filters this Trip Thomas as I wanted a more natural look.

      In any case I took it from the tender so that concept was not an option either.

      I reckon it is probably the result of global warming actually.

      Cheers,

      Mark

  2. To our defense, Christian and I spotted this island as well while snorkeling so can we call it “Markie’s Island that also belongs somewhat to CF & F” πŸ™‚

    It is funny shooting Dead Tree images in tropical lush PNG and weird to have a dead tree standing in salt water which it possibly isn’t built for. I must admit Christian got the best tree of the island. This is good too mate, are there halos around the tree, magic glow from Markie’s Island? πŸ™‚ It seems perhaps too edgy and contrasty at this small size. I might try flipping it, sometimes they’re stronger sitting in the right side of the image.

  3. I’ve been going through your archives Mark, great blog. Little pictures in the posts don’t do your photos any justice at all!

    I think you might be trumping Flemming for having the Best Job(s) In The World…

    True North is a gorgeous ship. You must be very proud πŸ™‚

    As for the destinations, well, still banging my head against a cubicle wall looking at your office. I could get used to a no shoes, tshirt and shorts dress policy… let me know if you’re ever hiring general dogsbodies. I have a sturdy pair of sea legs and am an able photographers’ assistant to boot!

    • Thanks for visiting and the positive comments Charlene.

      I certainly have a triple diploma in the having fun stakes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
