Cable Beach Sunset

Mikie Mike Fletcher and I went down to Cable Beach for the Sunset before we departed to the Rowleys. The pre sunset shot was the one actually as the clouds ended up too low to get the full colours…but I rate this shot I reckon.

How are the clouds!

~ by True North Mark on October 3, 2010.

16 Responses to “Cable Beach Sunset”

  1. Lovely shot mate. The low clouds really draw you into the image.

  2. Nice, Great clouds alright.

  3. That’s what I love about Cable Beach, when the clouds are good you have such a huge playing field. I see you using some Photoshop technique here for the clouds, it looks good this time around, not too sharpened.

    • The technique is Filter/other/highpass and then adjust the amount to what ever gives you some definition in the clouds and then change the blend mode to overlay…finally backing off the opacity so that it is not overdone or possibly inverting and painting the effect back in to just a few clouds that deserve the treatment!

      My tute for the day!

      • I thought it was high pass, I use the same technique although I usually use soft light blending. Will try overlay, thanks! I always use masking as well like you say, so the edges aren’t overdone, just the definition inside the bigger clouds. Cheers mate!

  4. Love the clouds, nice image Mark, I will have to learn a few of these techniques….

    • I don’t think you have to learn much at all Peta…your shots are awesome!

      Cheers,

      Mark

  5. Thanks but I have still so much to learn…just wish I was 20 years younger…

  6. I really like this one – there’s just a hint of that FBJ pastel here too which I like in his shots as well. The clouds look awesome and thanks for the tips – may have to retro-play with some old shots using that technique.

  7. nice sky Markie, I am back to do some catching up before heading off to Noosa on the weekend. I’m going to be a busy boy checking out your posts.

  8. Cracker Markie. Just got back from Broome today and am missing the Kimberley already. Got a shit load of editing to do. Busy Busy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
