Toodyay Ruins

Did you miss me? πŸ™‚

Sorry I have not posted for a while…I have been busy starting to move from Oakford to East Freo after living on 6 acres for 20 years!!

This image has been sitting on my desk top as a colour shot for a few weeks now and just tonight I thought I would have a crack at Black and White. Jamie showed us this little gem on the way out to Toodyay.

~ by True North Mark on August 30, 2010.

21 Responses to “Toodyay Ruins”

  1. Hi Mark, Black and white looks good with these type of subjects for sure.

    Looks like the fridge in the foreground is part of your new signature style.

    • Thanks Peter…yes I am likin’ the old fridges for sure!

      Something about the old kit eh…certainly adds a bit of mystery to what it must have been like back then!

  2. Nice Composition and contrast in this image Mark I like it eh. Oh Flame mission done to :).

  3. Cheers Mark you have been a bit of an inspiration for me lately eh :).

  4. Hi Mark,

    I didn’t miss you I needed a break from all the posts and I figured you were moving house! πŸ˜‰ I love the black and white treatment and the composition but I feel like the house is competing with the background too much, it doesn’t stand out from the background for me. If however that was your intention I’ll hop off my soapbox.

    Jamie

    • I think what I was trying to do was to show how far down the house had gone since its hay day with the derelict old fridge now living in the front yard.

      Its not an epic image which is why it has taken a while to post, but it tells a bit of a story of yesteryear for me!

  5. Cool mate. I think you’ve done the old house justice anyway. I’m guessing it won’t have its roof much longer.

    Jamie

  6. I hope that’s not your new house dude! He he. Nice shot mate. Well suited to B&W.
    Welcome to the burbs!
    Cheers
    Dave

  7. Nice find mate, think that I would lke to see it in colour. Good luck with your move

  8. It looks a great old house, have you done any HDR yet, this would be a great subject.
    Hope the move goes well..

    • Yep, have done a bit Peta…might give it a go on that shot as suggested!

      The move should be easy for me as I will be in Trinidad…planned that well eh!

  9. Your poor wife…..though I am sure she will have heaps of help….

  10. Nice scene and liking that it is in Black & White as well …

  11. Stunning shot.

Leave a Reply

 
