Mt Hotham’s Dead Forrest

As I just mentioned in a comment on one of my posts, I do like to go back over RAW files to see what I have missed and I often dig up some GOLD here and there and I think this one is no exception.

I quite like the various tones and the different perspective from previous panos from this location. This cripple at the time had to endure a good half hour and very slow climb up over a hill and far away (or it seemed like that) in order to find this perspective.

It is obviously a ski run during the season as the poles descending down the hill are there to support T bars I reckon.

The cloud and the light coming over the hill made for some nice light in this image.

~ by True North Mark on July 28, 2010.

15 Responses to “Mt Hotham’s Dead Forrest”

  1. Magic

  2. Um…… wow!!!

  3. Its seriously an amazing shot. Didn’t know what else to say. If its done with the 17mm TSE I’m sold.

    Jamie

    • No Jamie shot with my L series 50mm prime, a 6 shot stitch.

      Thanks for the positive feed back mate!

      Cheers,

      Mark

  4. Nice one there Markie – I was wondering on the perspective from there… but after sitting next to fletch as he gobbled down one of those luscious caramel ice creams I became lazy and dipped out on the short walk up… lol

    cheers 🙂

  5. It is always a pleasure to find hidden gems in old files, the less obvious shots that when looked upon again suddenly become the real winners.

    This is really nice, a great capture of a splendid scene. There’s a few things that bug my eye, keep in mind I like it incredible simple. The trees bookending the scene distract me as I dislike any bookend, frame or closed in look to an image. And that small green what-the-hell-is-it plastic thing by the road should die by cloning 🙂

    • Hi Bo,

      Thanks for the comment mate…indeed it is great to find these little gems, but in this instance I think I am going to disagree with your sentiment about the bookmarks as I both like the concept myself and feel that this image needs a bit of interest in the sides.

      You, on the other hand are the guru of wide opens spaces and I can see why you would not like the bookmark concept!

      That is why we are all different I guess eh mate!

      • Yep, would be very boring if we all liked the same thing. I know many people like the bookends and frames etc and I can see why for sure. Diversity makes everything interesting!

  6. yes I remeber you walking up there, I was behind you. Still you stayed I went back down. Not bad for a guy with a dickie foot on the day mate. You get the medal for going the extra mile!

    • They don’t call me dickie knee for nothing mate!

      It was worth the walk in the end I think!

      Cheers,

      Mark

Leave a Reply

 
