Hobart Harbour featuring an old wooden boat

There is no doubt that Hobart features one of the coolest Harbours in Australia in my opinion, which is very much enhanced by some of the really cool old boats that seem to muster down that way.

Their fishing fleet is very much old school as they have found that the newer planing hulls like we used to design for the Cray Fishing fleet in WA just couldn’t cut it in the weather off the Southern Coast of Tasmania.

These 2 pictures depict the wonderful ambience around the harbour and it is somewhere that you could spend hours just hanging around as it changes its mood so many times at various times of the day.

~ by True North Mark on July 14, 2010.

29 Responses to “Hobart Harbour featuring an old wooden boat”

  1. Nice images indeed Mark both would make great candidates for the new HDR in CS5 too, your getting some great images down that way to mate :).

    • Thanks Brett…I am yet to try the new HDR in CS5…you might have to give me a lesson one day!

      And yep I think I achieved the mission down at Tassy for sure….didn’t sit still for long I can assure you!

      • Yeah I haven’t got CS5 as of yet been holding off but not sure why mostly because of the Nik software issue but I am sure they will fix that soon I am sure.

      • You can run Nik software Brett with CS% dumbed down to 32 bit instead of 64, that’s what I am doing..and Christian for that matter!

  2. I like the second one Mark it has great depth. Tassie looks awesome I’ll have to check it out some time!

    • Thanks Jo, yes indeed it is a very beautiful place and it has a variety of landscapes, from waterways, to old growth forests, to historic buildings…not to mention large mountains!

      You could spend a good few weeks there cruising around and have some fun I reckon!

      • Yep I just added it to my list of places to visit on my upcoming Aussie road trip!

      • Nice work Jo!

        I intend to get an RV in the next couple of years and go trekking around all over Aus and building up my photo portfolio!

        I will for sure go back to Tassy and do the Northern part which I haven’t touched yet!

  3. Yep we’re off in a few months so I’m trying to get in all the practice with my camera that I can before we leave, so that I can do the trip justice with my photos. So much to learn, so little time…..

  4. Yeah I know that you can run it down to 32bit but the main reason I want to upgrade is for the 64bit to speed it up but more than likely I will be getting it soon anyway I am sure Nik software will bring out an upgrade anyway.

    • I tend to run between the 32 and 64 bit Brett.

      If I know an image is going to need some NIK then I open CS5 up in 32 bit, otherwise I run it in 64 bit.

      I must say I can’t notice the speed difference much in any case??

      • Yeah I use a lot of surface blur in some images now and find it really slugs sometimes but I have heard in the new CS5 it has really sped things up with the 64 bit but I have just made my mind up and going to get it tomorrow can’t wait any longer lol.

      • Good for you Brett…let me know what you think!

  5. Hehe yes I’ve noticed most of you guys seem to have Canons. That’s ok I’m just getting out there and taking lots of photos and learning more every day (except the last 2 days, I put my back out and am laid up on the couch at the moment). And the post processing is a mystery to me just now so I’m in the process of working my way through CS4 classroom in a book. I’ll get there! Any time you want to go out for a shoot somewhere around Perth though feel free to give me a shout, I’m always up for a new adventure!

    • That’s a tough way to learn photoshop Jo!

      I tried that and its really hard.

      I suggest you go to Christian training site and download the tutorial for beginners and book in to do one of his courses as well…that will fast track you into Photoshop bliss!

  6. Two nice images there Mark. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  7. tilt shift lens at work on the first one? Looks nice, good straight lines.

    • Yep it is Bo!

      The one with the old building was with the 28-300 zoom.

      Cheers,

      Mark

  8. Correction Bo, the Tilt Shift was the second shot, the first was the 28-300

  9. Beautiful light and detail mate.

  10. the top one is awesome mate, i reckon if you cropped in a bit tighter it would look even better. You are giving me lots of ideas for when I get there in November.

    • Pleased I could help mate..we will get together before you go and I will go through what areas I saw and discussed what I learned.

      Cheers,

      Mark

Leave a Reply

 
