Bruny Island Beach North

This is the view North of the Bruny Island Beach. A 3 shot stitch with my 17m Tilt Shift lense that I have grown to love to pieces!

How are the rocks in the foreground of this shot!

Waycool formations and fantastic colours as well.

~ by True North Mark on July 11, 2010.

18 Responses to “Bruny Island Beach North”

  1. Those rock formations are really cool. πŸ™‚ What makes you like the 17mm TSE so much Mark?

    Jamie

    • Hi Jamie,

      For one it is sharp right to the edges unlike the 16-35 which I found I had to stack focus in order to not get soft edges.

      For shots like this one where you need wide to get the detail you want close up in the foreground, stitching with the 50mm doesn’t cut it. Note the Southern Image I posted before done with a 50mm in Portrait mode with an ND.

      Didn’t get the details anywhere near as much as with the 17mm Tilt Shift.

      I did some shots facing south with the tilt shift as well so I might post those to show you the difference.

      For water fall shots where you sometimes take ages to set up your tripod level, with the Tilt Shift a 3 shot stitch is so easy and it is perfectly lined up.

      The Tilt gig is cool tofor straightening out warping when shooting building etc.

      The Willow shot I did at Port Arthur was a 2 shot Tilt Shift Stitch in Landscape mode that enabled a perfect square shot with the detail I was looking for.

      OK, I know…you asked for a good reason…not an excellent one eh…and I gave you 7 good reasons!!! πŸ™‚

      Cheers,

      Mark

  2. Hey mate, great detail, you also just answered my question regarding the 2 lenses. I was off to get the 16-35 and a 50mm. I will get the 50mm which is a great lens for portraits however for a wide angle landscape lens as well as architecture the 17 TSE seems to be the ideal choice.

    • Indeed Adrian

      The only drawbacks for the 17mm is you have to be really careful of the dome lense and you can’t use filters, but apart from that I love it!

      Cheers,

      Mark

  3. Great answer mate. Extremely helpful. Thanks.

  4. Mark nice shot and great commentary on that 17mm lens. Thanks for educating me (unlike Fletcher who’s busy talking about himself all the time!).

    • Hey Tom…pleased to hear that I can impart some knowledge to the master himself!

      Thanks for the comment as well mate!

  5. Very nice dramatic angle and composition, quite nice! Didn’t know you had the 17mm tilt shift lens, lucky bastard , I want one! πŸ™‚ Look forward to seeing it in action, bring it on πŸ™‚

  6. Hope you’re talking about the lens Mark.

  7. liking the wide angle pano!

Leave a Reply

 
