Old Anchors at Darling Harbour

At the boat show in Sydney at present and these anchors caught my eye last night.

I took a few more that maybe worthy, but I quite like this shot.

Cheers,

Mark
Old Anchors

Edited version as per Jamie Paterson’s suggestions. See if you like it!

Anchient Anchors

~ by True North Mark on July 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Old Anchors at Darling Harbour”

  1. Hi Mark,

    I do like this photo but I wish the DOF was a little shallower so that the anchors stand out a little more from the background.

  2. Hi jamie,

    Thanks for the comment.

    I was using a 50mm L series prime 1.2 F stop at 1.2, so i don’t know how I could have created a shallower depth of field than that apart from maybe using guasian blur or something in Photoshop.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Mark

  3. Hi Mark,

    It would be much harder to get a shallower depth of field given the settings that you’ve used. 🙂 This is just me looking at this from my fashion photography background and of course its only my opinion.

    You want our focus to be on the anchors but I think they are still ‘competing’ with the background.

    I’d be really interested to see a touch guassian blur as you suggest and perhaps making the background a little darker or the anchors a little brighter just to try and make them ‘pop’.

    Still its a cool photograph. 🙂

  4. I’ll give it a crack mate and see what I get.

    Should be up by tomorrow sometime…I have a bit to do just now!

    Ta,

    Mark

Leave a Reply

 
